Accessibility Tools

The City Beneath the Snow


By Marjorie Kowalski Cole

Paperback Price $15.95
Ebook Price $11.95

Buy Now

The Alaska Literary Series

"These are indeed short stories, but each has its own unquestionable beauty. . . . The characters are real, their situations elicit compassion, and Cole's writing deserves to be savored."
—ForeWord Reviews

"With her Bellwether Prize-winning novel Correcting the Landscape . . . Marjorie Kowalski Cole put Fairbanks, Alaska, on the literary map. Her posthumously published story collection The City Beneath the Snow again brings to life the people of that outpost in the boreal forest, besieged by winter for six months out of the year."
—High Country News


The final collection of stories by award-winning writer Marjorie Kowalski Cole, The City Beneath the Snow is a portrait of contemporary Alaskans, their interactions, and their foibles. These stories reveal the moral decisions that lurk at unexpected corners in daily life as the characters confront a world at once magical and ordinary, joy-filled and tragic. Together, they give the reader an intimate portrait of a people and place more often portrayed through wilderness specials and reality adventure shows.

Marjorie Kowalski Cole (1953–2009) was an accomplished writer of both fiction and nonfiction. She is the author of Correcting the Landscape and A Spell on the Water, and her essays on travel, writing, and environmental issues have been published in the Los Angeles Times, Poets & Writers, American Poetry Review, and others.

University of Alaska Press Logo


  • Paperback Price: $15.95
  • Paperback ISBN: 978-1-60223-155-9
  • Ebook Price: $11.95
  • EISBN: 978-1-60223-156-6
  • Publication Month: March
  • Publication Year: 2012
  • Pages: 276
  • Discount Type: Trade
  • Author: By Marjorie Kowalski Cole
  • ECommerce Code: 9781602231559

Related Titles

Browse Related Titles Tagged Under:

University Press of Colorado University of Alaska Press Utah State University Press University of Wyoming Press