Accessibility Tools

May Swenson Poetry Award

USU only vertical

MaySwensonThis annual competition was named for May Swenson, and honored her as one of America's most provocative and vital writers. In John Hollander's words, she was "one of our few unquestionably major poets." During her long career, May was loved and praised by writers from virtually every school of American poetry. (Photo copyright L.H. Clark.)

The May Swenson Award competition ran for twenty years. The final award was given in 2016.

University Press of Colorado University of Alaska Press Utah State University Press University of Wyoming Press