Accessibility Tools

Letter from the Director

darrin2In 2016–2017, the University Press of Colorado produced sixty-one new titles and editions in the fields of anthropology, composition, folklore, history, and natural history, maintaining our higher output of the past couple of years. Seven of these titles won awards this year, including the CCCC Outstanding Book Award (Transnational Writing Program Administration) and the CWPA Special Award for Outstanding Scholarship (Naming What We Know).

In addition, we also published, copublished, or distributed other important publications from member faculty and departments. Faculty publications included Field Guide to the Lichens of White Rocks (Erin A. Tripp, University of Colorado Boulder), Hayden's Landscapes Revisited (Thomas P. Huber, University of Colorado Colorado Springs), The History of the Death Penalty in Colorado (Michael L. Radelet, University of Colorado Boulder), New Approaches to Teaching Folk and Fairy Tales (Christa C. Jones and Claudia Schwabe, Utah State University), and Researching Writing (Joyce Kinkead, Utah State University). We also copublished Heroes, Hero Worship, and Brigham Young (Volume 20, The Leonard J. Arrington Lecture Series, Utah State University) along with the following titles from the WAC Clearinghouse:

Perspectives on Writing series

Critical Transitions

The Forgotten Tribe

Information Literacy

A Minefield of Dreams

Writing and School Reform

Across the Disciplines series

Performing Antiracist Pedagogy in Rhetoric, Writing, and Composition

Finally, we distributed Serenity and Severity (Volume 5, Manifest West series) for Western Press Books at Western State Colorado University as well as the following titles from the Center for Literary Publishing at Colorado State University:

&Luckier (Mountain West Poetry Series)

Beautiful Flesh

Escape Velocity (Mountain West Poetry Series)

Exit Theater (winner of the 2016 Colorado Prize for Poetry)

The Center for Literary Publishing at Colorado State University's The Verging Cities by Natalie Scenters-Zapico also brought home a pair of awards, adding to the two awards it collected last fiscal year.

Fiscal year 2016–2017 was a banner year for contributed revenue at the University Press of Colorado, with a total of over $400,000 raised from a combination of member dues, title subsidies, and individual donations. In addition, internal funding allowed us to establish an endowment fund with The Denver Foundation, which we grew through donations over the course of the fiscal year. Our near-term goal is to raise $250,000 before we start using earnings and interest for operations. With just over $40,000 in the fund to date, we have a little way to go to meet that objective. Nevertheless, establishing this endowment is an important step, with long-term sustainability for our publishing operation in mind. 

Finally, in June 2017, I completed my year as president of the Association of American University Presses. As I said last year, serving in this capacity was not only an honor for me personally but a reflection of everything that our staff, trustees, member institutions, faculty, and authors have built together over the past seventeen years here at the University Press of Colorado, with Utah State University Press. I would not have the opportunity to take on this role if it were not for the staunch support and hard work all of you have invested in our program. Thank you for everything you do to ensure our success.

—Darrin Pratt, Director

2016–2017 Board of Trustees

Jared Beeton
Adams State University

Catherine Cameron
University of Colorado Boulder

Bradford Cole
Utah State University

Catherine DiCesare
Colorado State University

James Drake
Metropolitan State University

Joyce Kinkead
Utah State University

Michael Lightner
University of Colorado System

Suzanne MacCaulay
University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Pete McCormick
Fort Lewis College

Jared Orsi
Colorado State University

Michael Palmquist
Colorado State University

Ken Sagendorf
Regis University

Lynn L. Sikkink
Western State Colorado University

Jeannie Thomas
Utah State University

Jay Trask
University of Northern Colorado

Mary Van Buren
Colorado State University

Kariann Akemi Yokota
University of Colorado Denver



More in this category: 2017 Financial Statements »

University Press of Colorado University of Alaska Press Utah State University Press University of Wyoming Press