Accessibility Tools

Annual Report 2015-2016

darrin2In 2015–2016, University Press of Colorado produced fifty-three new print titles and editions in the fields of anthropology, composition, folklore, history, and natural history, maintaining our higher publication level of 2014–2015. Five of these Colorado and Utah State titles won seven total awards this year, with both University of Colorado Boulder professor Laurie E. Gries receiving two awards for Still Life with Rhetoric and the Center for Literary Publishing at Colorado State University's The Verging Cities by Natalie Scenters-Zapico winning a pair as well.

In addition, we also published or distributed a number of other important publications from member faculty and departments, including The Business (Winner of the 2015 Colorado Prize for Poetry, Colorado State University), Denver Landmarks and Historic Districts, Second Edition (Thomas J. Noel, University of Colorado Denver), Discover Colorado, Second Edition (Matt Downey, emeritus, University of Northern Colorado), Herdon Davis (Thomas J. Noel, University of Colorado Denver, and Craig Leavitt, Auraria Library), House of Sugar, House of Stone (Mountain West Poetry Series, distributed for Colorado State University), A Lamp Brighter than Foxfire (Mountain West Poetry Series, distributed for Colorado State University), Narrating Jane (Volume 21, The Leonard J. Arrington Lecture Series, Utah State University), Political Strategies in Pre-Columbian Mesoamerica (Sarah Kurnick, postdoctoral fellow, University of Colorado Boulder), Serentiy and Severity, and Western Weird (the last two distributed for Western Press Books at Western State Colorado University).

We also participated in a study of the costs of publishing monographs that was conducted by ITHAKA S+R and with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and support from the Association of American University Presses. We are pleased to report to our authors, members, and supporters that we had the lowest overall average cost of the twenty presses who submitted titles for consideration to the statisticians involved in this project. I have always maintained that we provided very good value for the money invested in us, and now we have the proof to support such assertions.

Finally, near the end of fiscal year 2015–2016, I was elected by my peers to serve as the 2016–2017 president of the Association of American University Presses. This is not only an honor for me personally, but a reflection of everything that our staff, trustees, member institutions, faculty, and authors have built together here at University Press of Colorado, including Utah State University Press, over the past sixteen years. I would not have the opportunity to take on this role if it were not for the staunch support and hard work all of you have invested in our program, and I will do my best to represent you on the national stage over the next year. Thank you for everything you do to ensure our success.

—Darrin Pratt, Director

2015–2016 Board of Trustees

Catherine Cameron
University of Colorado Boulder

Bradford Cole
Utah State University

Catherine DiCesare
Colorado State University

James Drake
Metropolitan State University

Joyce Kinkead
Utah State University

Michael Lightner
University of Colorado System

Suzanne MacCaulay
University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Pete McCormick
Fort Lewis College

Heather Orr
Western State Colorado University

Jared Orsi
Colorado State University

Michael Palmquist
Colorado State University

Ken Sagendorf
Regis University

Jeannie Thomas
Utah State University

Jay Trask
University of Northern Colorado

Mary Van Buren
Colorado State University

Benjamin Waddell
Adams State University

Kariann Akemi Yokota
University of Colorado Denver



University Press of Colorado University of Alaska Press Utah State University Press University of Wyoming Press